Reese’s macarons!

I’m sick…I have an addiction. I’m aware I just baked a batch of PB&J macarons two days ago and ALREADY I am baking more! What is happening! I am 100% this has affected my waistline. It’s my cousin’s fault! Blame her! She specially requested peanut butter and chocolate macarons and I though “why not? I’ve been wanting to make Reese macarons anyway! good excuse to try it out!” These actually turned out better than I could have hoped for! Dare I say it….better than a Reese cup?! The peanut butter filling tastes dead up like the peanut butter in Reese cups. Probably because I used almost all Reese ingredients. But also, ALSO because I added that little bit of super-fine sugar. That really sweetened it up and gave it that little bit of gritty feeling you get when you eat a Reese cup. My friend said it is because they use molasses in Reese cups and it crystalizes in the peanut butter. I dunno? It worked though! And the chocolate…I used the ghirardelli milk chocolate chips….much better quality than the chocolate in Reese cups. More smooth and rich, less sugary and….sweet. Although I LOVE sweet. These just taste more like chocolate and less like sugar…yeah…that’s a good way to put it.

So yeah I couldn’t help but eat one….maybe two….or three….who’s counting really! At least I left some for my cousin who ordered them lol! OOOOOOOMMMMMGGGGGG I forgot to say! I have MORE orders! I am crazy excited! People have been soooooo interested in my macarons! I am thrilled and so happy! I love doing this and I am so glad people love what I make! I really think this is the right career path for me. I just need to figure out how to not get fat from doing it!

If anyone readying this has any advice please email me….I am…stumped? I really really really want to go to pastry school in Paris. I mean..let’s face it….Paris is Queen of pastries. But there’s a little detail called money…that bothering me. If anyone knows how to finance going to school abroad please let me know! Also I am researching how to ship macarons. I know someone who runs a cookie business and ships them around the country frozen……I am thinking this might be a cool idea 🙂 Here are the macarons!

Ingredients:

Macarons
110 g Egg Whites (Aged)
150 g Almond Flour
150 g Powdered Sugar
150 g Super-Fine Sugar
37.5 g Water

Peanut Butter Filling
100 g Reese Peanut Butter Chips
100 g Heavy Or Whipping Cream
75 g Reese Peanut Butter
15 g Super-Fine Sugar

Milk Chocolate Ganache
150 g Milk Chocolate Chips
150 g Heavy Or Whipping Cream

Peanut Butter Filling

1) Melt the peanut butter chips using a double boiler and at the same time heat the cream to a boil.

2) When the peanut butter chips have melted and as soon as the cream is boiling add the peanut butter chips to the cream. Turn off the heat and stir until you have a homogenous mixture.

3) Cool mixture in the fridge and when it is only slightly warm remove it from the fridge and stir in the peanut butter and the super-fine sugar.

4) Refrigerate until you are ready to use but the mixture MUST come to room temperature before you pipe it or else it is too thick!

Milk Chocolate Ganache

1) Melt the milk chocolate using a double boiler and at the same time heat the cream to a boil.

2) When the milk chocolate chips have melted and as soon as the cream is boiling add the milk chocolate chips to the cream. Turn off the heat and stir until you have a homogenous mixture.

3) Refrigerate, allowing the mixture to thicken. Remove only when ready to pipe the ganache. You don’t want it to get too runny!

The Macarons

1) Mix the almond flour and powdered sugar together and sift into a large mixing bowl. Divide the egg whites into two 110 gram portions and mix one of these portions into the dry ingredients and mix together with the food coloring until you have a homogenous batter.

2) Pour the water and super-fine sugar together in a sauce pan and stir together. Then add the other 110 gram portion of egg whites to an empty mixing bowl. Cook the sugar-water syrup to 118°C. Once the syrup reaches around 110-115°C start whipping the egg whites on high until they form stiff peaks at which point the syrup should have reached 118°C. Carefully pour in a thin stream of the syrup to the egg whites while continuously beating them on high.

3) Continue to beat the meringue on high until the side of the bowl is no longer hot and the meringue is only mildly warm. Then add it to the mixture.

4) Use a large spatula to fold the meringue and almond/sugar mixture together until the mixture is completely smooth and homogenous. The mixture should shine, flow like “magma” and be able to form a ribbon that stays visible for 30 seconds.

5) Add the mixture to a piping bag and pipe the macarons onto Silipat on an air bake baking sheet in around 1 to 1.5 inch circles. Set the macarons aside to crust for at least 30 minutes but I leave mine for an hour. If the room is humid then leave them to crust even longer. You should be able to touch the macaron and have it not be sticky and already forming a hard shell that doesn’t leave a finger print or indention. Also lightly tap the backing sheets to release and air bubbles or use a toothpick to pop them. Do this early though because if you wait too long the macarons will have already formed enough of a shell that when you pop the bubble, the batter wont smooth out to fill in the bubble.

6) While the macarons are drying preheat the oven to 300°F. Once the macarons are sufficiently dry bake them for around 15 minutes. Around 5-7 minutes into the baking process open the oven door to let the trapped steam escape and rotate the baking pans. The baking time depends on several things. If the macarons are too moist they will need extra time to bake. The bigger they are piped the longer they need to bake, smaller macarons bake faster. After around 14 minutes take the macarons out and let them sit on the baking tray for a few minutes and then slide the paper off the baking tray.

7) Let the macarons cool COMPLETELY before attempting to remove them. Otherwise they will break and then all that work was for nothing!

8) Once the macarons are completely cooled attempt to remove them from the Silipat.
  


9) Once the macaron shells are dried and cool and your peanut butter filling and milk chocolate ganache are ready, you are ready to assemble the macarons! Place the peanut butter filling and milk chocolate ganache into separate piping bags and pipe the fillings onto one shell and then twist the another shell on top! I pre divide all of my macaron shells in half that way I can distribute the ganache more evenly because I can more easily visualize exactly how much cream I have and how many shells I have to fill. Then refrigerate them for 24-48 hours and enjoy!

One thought on “Reese’s macarons!

Leave a Reply

