Malted Milk and Chocolate Macarons!

So I wanted to make these for a while but things have kept getting in the way of my macaron baking (how dare they) A malted macaron is not a new idea but I didn’t want any of the ones I was seeing. I wanted a malted milk center like a Whopper has and a malted milk chocolate macaron shell. All of the malted macarons I was seeing had malted chocolate centers. So I invented a malted milk center! It tastes really good but I think I actually over did it with the malt powder! They are REALLY malty! They taste delicious but you can only have one or two or you will be sick (trust me 🙂 ) These have malted milk chocolate macaron shells and a malted milk white chocolate whipped ganache. I really have been liking the whipped ganaches! I like how they are lighter and not so heavy like a normal ganache. For certain flavors I think this helps by giving a nice texture. The fruity pebble macarons were also a whipped white chocolate ganache. If I was doing a plain ganache center I think making a regular ganache would work but for these flavors I think the texture adds a nice element. For some reason a thick ganache sounds too….heavy for a malted milk center.

My chocolate shells always come out a seeming a little gooey. Well not all of them but maybe, 1/3 or 1/2 of them do. But as soon as I fill them and stick them in the fridge they get hard as bricks. This sounds bad but this is actually what I want. I want them to be hard because that is how they should start out in the maturation process. If they start out too gooey then they will end up falling apart after they are done maturing. They need to be crunchy to begin with so that they end up nice and soft and slightly chewy (my chocolate macaron shells always end up a little more chewy than airy…makes sense I think). If they are too soft at the beginning of the maturation process they will wind up beings mushy and fall apart in your hand, not what you want. It sucks but it is a reality in macaron making that the best results come from patience. Separate egg whites and let them sit for a week, let your macaron shells rest for an hour before baking, let them come to room temperature after they are done baking before you remove them from the parchment paper and fill them, leave them in the fridge for 1-3 days depending on the filling and how hard the macaron shells are. All of this will give you INCREDIBLE results. People DIE when they eat a perfect macaron. They will still taste good if you skip these steps but they won’t be as heavenly!

This also marks the FIRST time I have attempted to use a decorative piping tip. It worked out pretty well but I did pipe the most basic of basic design. Sadly I put all of my filling into one piping bag so when I piped the centers they came out piped in a star shape too. I don’t really like it, I prefer the nice smooth piped middles rather than the star shaped piped middle, but I already did it so I figured I would give deal with it. I don’t think they look too bad but I would have preferred the regular looking middle. Next time I might try to pipe rosettes!

I used Horlick’s plain malted powder for the malted milk filling and I used Ovaltine for part of the milk chocolate shells. These are very malty! I find though that the shells never taste super chocolate-y. I use the Pierre Hermé recipe for chocolate macaron shells (It’s listed in my milk chocolate macaron post). I like it because the shells always come out looking good but the flavor isn’t very intense. I might try the Ladurée chocolate macaron shells next time. I think they seem more chocolate-y but they also seem like they have more of a chance of coming out wrong. We will see!

I bought this display stand at Target on clearance! I know it’s not the nicest looking one but it was like $7! Anyway I hope I have sufficiently teased you with my malted macarons! Who knows what I will be baking next! I want to start making more pastries but they are harder to transport and harder to eat so macarons are simpler and easier. I’ll try to keep you all posted!

A little update: These were the PERFECT constancy! The maturation process works WONDERS! Fear not if you have a over-cooked, hard macaron! Mature that SOB in the fridge for a few days and it will be perfect. Mine weren’t overcooked but they matured beautifully. It really is amazing how they will be hard and crunchy (very hard) after bakings and the first few hours of being in the fridge. Then magically after a few days they are sooooo soft and light and fluffy and delicate and perfect! I am so happy I learned to be patient and wait for my macarons to mature. I used to not be able to wait and eat them they day I made them. Now I know that waiting really does enhance the overall experience. Of course eat the messed up shells and the ones that where dropped (whoops). Those will hopefully hold you over! But PLEASE learn to be patient. If you can hold off for a few days you won’t be disappointed. It is incredible the difference a few days in the fridge will make. I cannot over emphasize the importance of maturation. It really does work miracles! Also you can take one out of the fridge a day and eat it to taste if the constancy is right. After a while you will just learn when to expect them to be perfect. The “wetter” or more moist the filling the shorter the maturation time. Jellies and jams are the shortest. Thick ganaches and peanut butter type fillings take longer. My whipped ganaches mature much faster than my plain ganaches. It is because I use more milk and less cream in my whipped ganaches. This makes them more moist and less thick. So if you know you are pressed for time use a wetter filling. Ok, I am done with my rant on maturation. Just know maturation does work! It is worth the wait! One last thing, mature them in the fridge. The freeze tends to slow/stop the process. This makes sense logically because the liquids solidify. Let them come to room temperature before eating the macarons and let them mature in the fridge. If you are storing them then store them in the freezer, but let them mature in the fridge.

4 thoughts on “Malted Milk and Chocolate Macarons!

  1. Thanks so much for this article. At 4am when I’m awake and worried because I overcooked 3 big batches (Christmas presents) in my new oven, this gives me hope! 🙂 yours look fantastic btw!

Leave a Reply

