Key Lime Macarons

So my boyfriend LOVES Key Lime Pie. He is constantly asking me to make him one. We have a really good relationship. He loves cooking and I LOVE baking. So it’s a match made in heaven! Anywho, I went to Kroger and bought Key Limes…omg I had to press about a thousand Key Limes! But it was worth it! Beware, this Key Lime curd is very tart, almost puckering your mouth. I think it is pleasant though, but if tart isn’t your thing you might just not want to make these 🙂 Key Limes that aren’t tart….aren’t really a Key Lime flavor anymore now are they? I am including the recipe for the Key Lime Curd because I made it up. Well I altered several recipes to make my own because the curd wasn’t thickening enough or was too tart.

KEY LIME CURD

1 cup key lime juice, (just keep pressing those limes until you have enough!)

1 teaspoon key lime zest

2 eggs

4 egg yolks

1 cup granulated sugar

1/4 teaspoon fine salt

1 stick of unsalted butter

DIRECTIONS:

1)whisk together the Key Lime juice, the zest, the eggs, the yolks, the sugar and the salt.

2)heat the mixture in a medium sized saucepan on medium/high heat until the mixture starts to boil and then heat for 1-2 minutes until the sauce thickens. You want to whisk the mixture the whole time and ESPECIALLY when it boils to prevent burning and to prevent the eggs from cooking.

3)strain the mixture into a bowl and let it cool completely. the mixture will thicken. if it isn’t thick enough then dilute about 1/2 teaspoon gelatin in some water and reheat the curd and add the gelatin. Reheat to a boil stirring the entire time. Then strain again and let cool completely again.

This makes enough Key Lime Curd for around 40 macarons. ALSO! Zest about half of the Key Limes and add the zest to the macaron batter! This will perfume the batter and slightly flavor the macaron shells! They smelled so floral and delicious coming out of the oven and they tasted sweetly lime flavored. Not tart! I also added a little bit of marshmallow fluff to the top of the macarons to give it the appearance of meringue like a Key Lime pie. I think it turned out adorable although I wish the marshmallow fluff would have kept more of its shape.

The flavor, like I warned, is tart but also has a wonderful floral scent and sweetness to it! I LOVE the smell of limes and these smell exactly like a Key Lime! If you like citrus and tartness then you will LOVE these! The marshmallow fluff adds a bit of sweetness to the tartness of the Key Lime curd but doesn’t overpower the flavor. With garnishes you want to be careful they do not ruin the flavor of the macaron you worked so hard at baking!

2 thoughts on “Key Lime Macarons

  1. I love green, I love citrus fruit and I love your green macarons. Unfortunately I’ve never managed to make some myself. But yours are such a nice inspiration. Maybe I’ll start next year which is in two days and I needn’t go to work next week. Thank you for sharing the recipe for the lime curd. Have a splendid start of the year 2013 and many happy moments next year.

Leave a Reply

