Salted Dulce de Leche Macarons!

photo 1 So everyone loves salted caramel and dulce de leche is a type of caramel. Therefore I made salted caramel macarons! I cheated and bought dulce de leche. I’m sure homemade dulce de leche is incredibly delicious but I didn’t want to spend 3-4 hrs boiling sweetened condensed milk. I think the store bought was pretty good all on its own!

photo 2

Basically I made a dulce de leche buttercream and then salted it. I recommend not following a recipe and adding salt to taste. This way it won’t end up too salty or not salty enough. Everyone has different standards for salty.

photo 4

The macarons were pretty basic and quick to make. The flavor is so rich that they don’t need a lot of fuss or decoration. I took them to work (hence the pictures) and my coworkers went WILD! They kept coming back for more! Be careful when taking macarons to work, they will eat them all and leave you none!

photo 5

One thought on “Salted Dulce de Leche Macarons!

Leave a Reply

